Mumbai Metro Line 12: Fresh Tenders Invited To Develop 20Km Kalyan-Taloja Route

Amit Mishra

Dec 04, 2023, 11:19 AM | Updated 11:19 AM IST

Mumbai Metro.
Mumbai Metro.

Months after the first tender was cancelled, the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA), last week, invited tenders for the construction of Metro Line 12 that will run from Kalyan to Taloja.

As per the contract, the Rs 1,877 crore project involves part-design and construction of an elevated viaduct and 19 stations, with a completion time of 30 months.

The 20-km-long fully elevated metro corridor between Kalyan and Taloja has 19 stations, with the depot located at . The stations covered are APMC Kalyan, Ganesh Nagar, Pisavali Gaon, Golavali, Dombivali MIDC, Sagaon, Sonarpada, Manpada, , Hedutane, Kolegaon, Nilje Gaon, Vadavali, Bale, Vaklan, Turbhe, Pisarve Depot, Pisarve, and Amandoot (Taloja).

As part of plan to create an inter-connected network, the Metro line 12 will connect to Metro Line 5 at APMC Kalyan and Navi Mumbai Metro Line 01 in Taloja.

The Rs 8,416 crore Metro Line-5 connecting Thane to Kalyan via Bhiwandi, is a 24.9-km-long elevated corridor with 15 stations is currently under construction and is expected to open for commercial service in 2025.

Metro Line 5 Alignment
Metro Line 5 Alignment

Incidentally, the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority, Had cancelled the first tender for the Kalyan-Dombivali-Taloja Metro line-12 as the previous alignment did not connect with the 11.1-km-long Navi Mumbai Metro Line 1.

Navi Mumbai Metro Line 1 Alignment
Navi Mumbai Metro Line 1 Alignment

The Navi Mumbai’s first Metro line, connecting Belapur and Pendhar, was opened for commercial operations on 17 November.

Once completed, Metro route 12 will directly connect the cities of Kalyan-Dombivali with Thane, Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. Total project cost of Metro 12 is Rs 5, 494 crore and JICA (Japan International Cooperation Agency) is the funding agency for the project, which is expected to be completed by October 2025.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.