Big Blow For Chandrababu Naidu: Four TDP Rajya Sabha MPs Quit Party, Switch Over To BJP Chandrababu Naidu. Photo credit: RAVEENDRAN/AFP/GettyImages

TDP Chief and former Andhra Pradesh chief minister Chandrababu Naidu suffered a jolt on Thursday (20 June) after four of his Rajya Sabha MPs quit the party and switched over to the BJP, India Today has reported.

This comes at a time when Naidu is vacationing abroad with his family. It was earlier reported that he is also facing eviction from his riverfront home, which was allegedly constructed in circumvention of River Conservancy act.

TDP MPs T G Venkatesh, Y S Chowdary, G M Rao and C M Ramesh officially announced their intention to quit the party and join the BJP. They also met Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu to tender their resignation from the TDP. After this development, the TDP only has two MPs left in the upper house.

The MPs said that they decided to join the BJP after being inspired and encouraged by the “impeccable leadership of Narendra Modi”. This switch over would come as a shot in the arm for the BJP which is seeking a majority number in the Rajya Sabha. Currently the party has 71 MPs in the 245 member house.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber