Maharashtra: BJP, Shiv Sena To Jointly Contest Upcoming State Assembly Election

BJP President Amit Shah with Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray And Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis (@BJP4India/Twitter)

Putting an end to days of uncertainty over the fate of the alliance between the Shiv Sena and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Maharashtra, the two parties agreed on a seat-sharing agreement yesterday (30 September), reports The Hindu.

The development was made public in a joint statement made by BJP state president Chandrakant Patil and senior leader of the Shiv Sena, Subhash Desai. However, the details of the seat-sharing agreement agreed upon by the two parties have not been made public at the moment.

Answering a query about Shiv Sena getting the post of the Deputy Chief Minister (CM) upon return of the alliance to power, BJP's Patil said, "Nothing of this sort has been decided. Let the elections take place. After that results will be out."


Meanwhile, it is being speculated that the details of the seat-sharing agreement have not been revealed due to fear of rebellion. Commenting on the concerns over the same, Patil said, "It is natural that those who are sitting MLAs or prepared for five years feel agitated in case seat goes to other parties. It is natural. But we will talk to them and reinstate them for sure in future."

However, the Times of India has reported that the BJP will be contesting the elections on 162 seats while the Shiv Sena will be fighting on 126 seats, junking the 50-50 seat-sharing formula that was being insisted upon by the Shiv Sena earlier.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber