Yogi Adityanath Government Issues Orders, Uttar Pradesh Ministers To Begin Paying Own Income Tax After Almost 40 Years

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath (Subhankar Chakraborty/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The Uttar Pradesh Government led by Chief Minister (CM) Yogi Adityanath issued notified on Friday (13 September) that all the ministers will be paying their income taxes on their own, putting an end to a four-decade-old law under which the state government had to bear the expense, reports Economic Times.

The said law had been enacted in 1981 and made the case that the chief minister of the state and the ministers appointed would not have to pay their income taxes, which would instead be borne by the state exchequer.

The decision was made public by the state's Finance Minister Suresh Kumar Khanna who said in a statement, "UP chief ministers and all ministers will pay their own income tax. The income tax bill till now was paid through the state treasury."


It should be noted that so far 19 chief ministers and more than 1,000 ministers who have served the Uttar Pradesh government from time to time have benefited and saved money by not having to pay any income taxes.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber