News Brief

PM Modi's Special Guest List For Swearing-In Ceremony: Sanitation Workers, Central Vista Project Labourers, Railway Employees And More

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 07, 2024, 09:23 AM | Updated 09:23 AM IST

PM Modi
PM Modi

Several sanitation workers, transgenders, and labourers who were part of the Central Vista Project will reportedly be among the special guests at Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony this weekend.

Railway employees working in the Vande Bharat and Metro projects, beneficiaries of central government schemes, and the "Viksit Bharat" ambassadors have also been invited to the oath-taking event, set to take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday (9 June), NDTV reported.

Preparations are underway to accommodate over 8,000 guests at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister on Sunday evening after after his allies chose him as their leader at a key meeting in Delhi.

Various leaders of the neighbouring countries have been invited to the ceremony, with confirmations already received from Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Invitations have also been reportedly sent to Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda,' Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth.

In PM Modi's previous oath-taking ceremonies, leaders from the SAARC countries attended in 2014, and leaders from the BIMSTEC countries were present in 2019.

This will be Narendra Modi's third consecutive term as Prime Minister, making him only the second Indian to achieve this after the country's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru.

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured 240 seats, down from its previous majority of 303 seats in 2019.

The BJP-led NDA, which had won 352 parliamentary constituencies in the 2019 general elections, has now come down to 293 seats, still above the majority mark of 272.

PM Modi and the BJP are relying on their allies to form the government, with significant support from Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party, which won 16 seats, and Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal United, which secured 12 seats.

Also Read: SGPC Blames Kangana Ranaut After CISF Constable Slapped BJP MP-Elect At Chandigarh Airport Over Statement During Farmers' Protest

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.