A 360 Degree Summary Of Bengal Lok Sabha Polls: Here’s All You Need To Know About The Final ResultsShah and Mamata

The final results in Bengal were declared late in the evening, due to the delay caused by counting and tallying of VVPAT slips as well as postal ballots. The BJP has won 18 seats, the Trinamool Congress bagged 22 seats, the Congress got two seats while the Left drew a blank.

The BJP had won just two seats--Darjeeling and Asansol--in 2014, while the Trinamool had bagged 34, the Left had got 4 seats and the Congress had won 2 seats.

The BJP has increased its seat tally by 16, and its vote share from 17.02 per cent (in 2014) to an impressive 40.3 per cent this time. Interestingly, while the Trinamool’s seat tally fell by 12, its vote share rose by 4.25 per cent from 39.05 per cent in 2014 to 43.3 per cent this time.

The CPI(M)’s vote share fell to 6.28 per cent this time from 29.71 per cent in 2014 while the Congress’ vote share fell by 3.99 per cent from 9.58 per cent in 2014 to 5.61 per cent this time.

BJP wins:

  • Cooch Behar: Nisith Pramanik by 54,231 votes
  • Alipurduar: John Barla by 2,43,989 votes
  • Jalpaiguri: Dr Jayanta Kumar Roy 1,84,004 votes
  • Darjeeling: Raju Bista by 4,13,443 votes
  • Balurghat: Sukanta Majumdar by 33,293 votes
  • Raiganj: Debashree Chaudhuri by 60,754 votes
  • Malda Uttar: Khagen Murmu by 84,288 votes
  • Ranaghat: Jagannath Sarkar by 2,33,428 votes
  • Bardhaman-Durgapur: S.S.Ahluwalia by 2430 votes
  • Asansol: Babul Supriyo by 1,97,637 votes
  • Purulia: Jyotirmoy Singh Mahato by 2,04,732 votes
  • Bankura: Dr Subhas Sarkar by 1,74,333 votes
  • Bishnupur: Saumitra Khan by 78,047 votes
  • Medinipur: Dilip Ghosh by 88,952 votes
  • Jhargram: Kumar Hembram by 11,767 votes
  • Hooghly: Locket Chatterjee by 73,362 votes
  • Barrackpur: Arjun Singh by 14,857 votes
  • Bongaon: Shantanu Thakur by 1,11,594

Trinamool Congress wins:

  • Jangipur: Khailur Rahman by 2,45,782 votes
  • Murshidabad: Abu Taher Khan by 2,26,507 votes
  • Krishnanagar: Mohua Moitra by 63,218 votes
  • Bardhaman Purba: Sunil Kumar Mondal by 89,311 votes
  • Bolpur: Asit Kumar Mal by 1,06,402 votes
  • Birbhum: Satabdi Roy by 88,924 votes
  • Ghatal: Deepak Adhikary by 1,07,973 votes
  • Tamluk: Dibyendu Adhikari by 1,90,165 votes
  • Kanthi: Sisir Adhikari by 1,11,668 votes
  • Arambagh: Aparupa Poddar (Afrin Ali) by 1,142 votes
  • Howrah: Prasun Banerjee by 1,03,695 votes
  • Uluberia: Sajda Ahmed by 2,15,359 votes
  • Srirampur: Kalyan Banerjee by 98,536 votes
  • Barasat: Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar by 1,09,983 votes
  • Basirhat: Nusrat Jahan by 3,50,369 votes
  • Dum Dum: Saugata Ray by 53,002 votes
  • Kolkata Uttar: Sudip Bandopadhyay by 1,27,095 votes
  • Kolkata Dakshin: Mala Roy by 1,55,192 votes
  • Jadavpur: Mimi Chakraborty by 2,95,239 votes
  • Diamond Harbour: Abhishek Banerjee by 3,20,678 votes
  • Joynagar: Pratima Mandal by 3,16,775 votes
  • Joynagar: Chaudhury Mohan Jatia by 2,03,974 votes

Congress wins:

  • Malda Dakshin: Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury by 8222 votes (nearest rival BJP)
  • Baharampur: Adhir Chowdhury by 80,696 votes (nearest rival Trinamool)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber