Bengaluru: BBMP To Become Decentralised With Four Special Commissioners In Reforms Push By Yediyurappa Government

.The BBMP headquarters at NR Square.

In a major civic body reform for Bengaluru, the state government led by Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa has approved the decentralisation of the civic body of the city, fulfilling the long-standing demand of numerous civic activists, reports The News Minute.

The state government has appointed four special commissioners to oversee the developments while dividing the city into eight separate zones with each zone having a Joint Commissioner appointed by Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP).

The development has come after Yediyurappa called a meeting in this regard on Friday which was attended by Deputy CM Dr C N Ashwathnarayana, Members of Parliament (MPs) from Bengaluru, P C Mohan and Rajeev Chandrashekar, and the chief minister’s Political Secretary S R Vishwanath.


Briefing media persons about the development, Ashwathnarayana said, “These Commissioners will be given the independence to make decisions for their zones. It is not just decentralisation of the administration but the decision has been taken to ensure that there is accountability and transparency.”

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber