Bihar Polls In Three Phases On 28 October, 3 And 7 November; Counting On 10 November, EC Announces

Bihar Polls In Three Phases On 28 October, 3 And 7 November; Counting On 10 November, EC AnnouncesBihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar (K Asif/India Today Group/Getty Images)

The elections for the 243 Assembly seats of Bihar will take place in three phases between 28 October and 7 November. The counting of votes will be on November 10, the Election Commission (EC) said on Friday (25 September).

The second phase of polling will take place on 3 November.

While 71 seats will go to polls in the first phase, polling will be done on 98 and 78 seats in the second and third phases respectively, the central polling body said.

Addressing a press conference in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said, "In first phase, 71 Assembly constituencies in 16 districts, including most of the LWE (Left-wing extremism) affected districts will go for poll. In second phase, 94 Assembly constituencies in 17 districts and in third phase, 78 Assembly constituencies in 15 districts will go for poll.”

He said that the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

He also said, keeping in mind the Covid-19 pandemic situation, polling time has been increased by one hour. "Now the polling time will be between 7:00 am to 6:00pm" he said.

These are going to be first major elections in the country since the outbreak of novel coronavirus.

The commission has also laid down strict guidelines and social distancing norms to conduct the first polls in the country amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

"Hand gloves shall be provided to all the electors for signing on the voter register and pressing button of EVM for voting," the EC had earlier said, while adding that face masks, sanitisers, thermal scanners, gloves, face shields and personal protective equipment kits "shall be used during the electoral process ensuring social distancing norm".

(With inputs from IANS)