BJP MP Tejasvi Surya Appointed New National President Of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha

Swarajya Staff

Sep 26, 2020, 04:33 PM | Updated 05:54 PM IST

South Bangalore Lok Sabha MP Tejaswi Surya
South Bangalore Lok Sabha MP Tejaswi Surya

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Jagat Prakash Nadda has appointed Bengaluru South MP Tejasvi Surya as the new national president of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), party's youth wing.

Surya will replace another BJP MP Poonam Mahajan as the president of the BJYM.

The 29-year-old lawmaker won the 2019 Lok Sabha election by defeating Congress' B K Hariprasad by over 3 lakh votes.

Surya was an active member of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and was even the general secretary of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM).

The BJYM, like the BJP has a similar structure, with a President, Vice Presidents, General Secretaries, Secretaries and Executive members, with the National Executive being the highest decision making body of the BJYM. At the state level, a similar structure is in place.

Many prominent BJP leaders including Kalraj Mishra, Rajnath Singh and Shivraj Singh Chouhan have been the national presidents of the BJYM in past.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.