BJP Names Jairam Thakur As Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jairam Thakur, right, meets senior BJP leaders in Shimla. (Deepak Sansta/Hindustan Times via Getty Images) 

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Jairam Thakur is set to become the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh after he was elected the leader of BJP’s legislature party on Sunday.

The decision was taken at a meeting of BJP MLAs where Thakur's name was proposed by Suresh Bharadwaj and Mahender Singh and seconded by other members. The meeting was held under the supervision of BJP’s central observers – Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar.

Considered a popular face in Himachal Pradesh, Thakur was credited with striking a balance between the warring factions of the party. The legislator from Seraj constituency served as the BJP's state chief between 2006 and 2009.

BJP delegation met Himachal Pradesh Governor Acharya Dev Vrat and staked claim to form government in the state. Thakur, a five time MLA, will be sworn in as the Chief Minister on Wednesday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the swearing in ceremony.

This comes a day after Dhumal ruled himself out from the race for the post of chief minister. Although the BJP ousted the Congress in the state by winning in 44 of the 68 assembly constituencies, Dhumal lost his seat. Despite the loss, the 73-year-old was in the race for the chief minister’s post after several loyal lawmakers offered him their seats.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber