Byculla: Shiv Sena Takes Big Lead Over AIMIM’s Incumbent Waris Pathan Who Refused To Chant Bharat Mata Ki Jai(Left) AIMIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi and (Right) AIMIM MLA Waris Pathan (Facebook)

In a noteworthy election story from Mumbai’s Byculla assembly constituency, Shiv Sena’s Yamini Yashwant Jadhav has amassed a comfortable lead of almost 16,000 votes against her immediate rival and incumbent MLA - Waris Pathan.

As per latest election commission data, Jadhav has polled 35,203 votes and Pathan is a distant second with 19,824 votes.

Latest election commission data from Byculla seat
Latest election commission data from Byculla seat

Pathan a controversial MLA belonging to the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) had notably been suspended from the Maharashtra Assembly in 2016 for refusing to chant Bharat Mata Ki Jai.

In March 2016 BJP MLAs had urged Pathan to chant the patriotic slogan inside the assembly which resulted in a vehement refusal. This led to a major row which culminated in Pathan being suspended.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber