Centre Develops 1,206 Railway Stations Under Adarsh Station Scheme, To Modernise 47 More Stations In 2021-22

India Infrahub

Jul 31, 2021, 06:25 PM | Updated 06:25 PM IST

A Representative Image
A Representative Image

Out of 1253 railway stations identified for development under Adarsh Station Scheme, 1206 railway stations have been developed, and the remaining stations are under development in Financial Year 2021-22.

This information was given by the Minister of Railways, Ashwini Vaishnaw, in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha on Friday (30 July).

Under the Adarsh scheme, busy stations have their passenger amenities such as toilets, drinking water, waiting areas, benches, all improved.

The states of Nagaland and Tripura will see one station each being upgraded while the states of Goa, Himachal Pradesh and the union territory of Puducherry will see two each. Four stations in Delhi, five in Jammu and Kashmir, and eight in Uttarakhand have been selected.

The lion’s share goes to West Bengal with 384 stations, followed by Uttar Pradesh at 152, Maharashtra at 108, 75 in Kerala, 59 in Bihar, 47 Odisha, 46 Andhra Pradesh, 44 for Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh and 40 for Rajasthan.

For 2021-22, Northern Railways got the highest allocation of Rs 291 crore. The allocation of funds for the central railway is Rs 230 crore, while Rs 178 crore has been allocated for the Eastern Railway.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.