Delhi Assembly Polls On 8 February; Results On 11, Announces Election Commission

Delhi Assembly Polls On 8 February; Results On 11, Announces Election CommissionDelhi CM and AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal (Representative Image) (Pradeep Gaur/Mint via Getty Images)

State Assembly elections in the national capital Delhi will take place on 8 February, 2020, while the results will be declared on 11 February after the vote counting, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) announced on Monday (6 January).

“Over 13,000 polling station will be set up and about 90,000 officers will be deployed for the state elections,” he added.

The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately, said the Election Commission. The date of notification is 14 January, while 21 January will be the last date for filing nominations.

There are a total of 70 seats in Delhi out of which ruling Aam Aadmi Party won 67 last time. Mainly three political parties are in fray for the election -- AAP, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Congress.

CEC Sunil Arora, whose tenure is ending on 22 February, said that he held a meeting with Chief Secretary and senior officials last month.

Arora lamented that some constituencies in Delhi had lower turnouts than Maoist-affected areas. But, he assured that the EC is taking all steps to ensure more people come out to vote.

Arora also announced pick and drop facilities for senior citizens as well as postal ballot facility for people with disabilities and senior citizen above the age of 80.

Teams for monitoring the media have also been formed, informed the EC.

(With inputs from IANS)