Karnataka Now Has 31 Districts As Yediyurappa Govt Carves Out New District Vijayanagara From BallariKarnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa. (representative image)

Vijayanagara, became Karnataka's 31st district with the state government on Monday (8 February) issuing an official gazette notification carving out a new district from the ore-rich Ballari.

The new district will have six taluks and Hosapete will be its headquarters, while Kudligi, Hagaribommana Halli, Kotturu, Hoovina Hadagali, and Harapanahalli are the other five taluks will be part of the new district.

Whereas Ballari district will have five taluks - Ballari, Kurugodu, Siraguppa, Kampli, and Sanduru whilst Ballari taluk will be its headquarters.

More importantly, the iconic cluster of monuments at Hampi or Hampe, a UNESCO world heritage site, will be part of the new district, Vijaynagara.

On 18 November last year, the state cabinet had given in principle approval for creation of Vijayanagara district.

The government's plan to create Vijayanagara district had run into opposition, especially from within the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, including MLA Somashekar Reddy.

Minister for Infrastructure Development, Haj and Wakf, Anand Singh, who is also the Ballari district in-charge, had anchored the efforts for the new district.

Singh, when he contested on a Congress ticket in 2018 after deserting BJP, he canvassed hard that he would ensure that Vijyanagara would be the new district by bifurcating the Ballari, who then ran feud with Ballari strongmen, Reddy brothers.

However, this demand got its shape only when Singh rejoined the BJP by defecting from Congress within a year and half in 2019. To win the by-election from Vijaynagara constituency, the plan for a new Vijayanagar district was first officially mooted by Chief Minister Yediyurappa in September 2019 during Singh's poll rally.

As consensus eluded meetings held in this regard in October that year, the Chief Minister had deferred a decision on it.

Many within the ruling BJP had criticised the move in 2019, stating the decision to create a new district was being taken under pressure from Singh, in return for his role in BJP coming to power.

Singh is one of the 17 MLAs defected and their rebellion led to the fall of the previous H.D. Kumaraswamy led Congress-JD(S) coalition government, had cited the demand for a separate Vijayanagara district as one of the reasons for his resignation from the Congress.

Undivided Ballari was politically significant, comprising nine Assembly constituencies of which the Congress represents five and the BJP four.

In a note written to the Chief Secretary in September 2019, Yediyurappa had said keeping public and administrative interest in mind, it was necessary to create the new district noting that some parts of the Ballari district were about 200 km from the present headquarters.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber