Leads Update: Modi In Varanasi, Amit Shah In Gandhinagar And Rahul Gandhi Leading In WayanadNarendra Modi and Amit Shah (PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images))

Prime Minister Narendra Modi who won with a huge margin in the temple town in 2014 is currently in the lead in Varanasi. On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi is leading in Wayanad constituency in Kerala.

Bharatiya Janata Party president Amit Shah, who made his electoral debut, is leading in Gandhinagar constituency. Two high octane seats in Bengal are also showing the lead for BJP.

The fate on many key candidates, including Congress president Sonia Gandhi in Raebareli, Maneka Gandhi in Sultanpur, Shashi Tharoor In Thiruvananthapuram, Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, will be decided today.

Other closely watched battles would be between Pragya Thakur and Digvijay Singh In Bhopal, Gautam Gambhir and Atishi Marlena in East Delhi. The elections will also decide the fate of CPI’s star candidate Kanhaiya Kumar from Begusarai. Kerala’s Pathanamthitta seat will decide the impact of Sabarimala issue upon the voters.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber