Mamata Government Reinstates 11 IPS Officers Including Controversial Cop Rajeev Kumar After Lifting Of MCC

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. (MUNIR UZ ZAMAN/AFP/Getty Images)

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee led All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) government in the state of West Bengal has reinstated 11 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers to their old posts soon after the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) was lifted by the Election Commission (EC), reports Times of India.

The list of reinstated IPS officers included the name of controversial Rajeev Kumar who is embroiled in an active CBI investigation in the Saradha chit fund scam. The Banerjee government has reinstated Kumar to his earlier post of Additional Director General of West Bengal CID.

The EC had relieved Kumar from his duty following the violence in the Kolkata during Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah's roadshow during the course of the just culminated Lok Sabha elections.


The reinstated officers also include Anuj Sharma as the Kolkata Police Commissioner.

The MCC which came into effect on 10 March when the Lok Sabha elections were announced was lifted by the EC on Sunday (26 May).

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber