NDA Announces Seat Allocation For Bihar Polls; BJP To Contest On 121, JDU On 122 Seats

NDA Announces Seat Allocation For Bihar Polls; BJP To Contest On 121, JDU On 122 SeatsPrime Minister Narendra Modi with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. (PMO)

Bihar Chief Minister (CM) Nitish Kumar on Tuesday (6 October) announced the seat-sharing plan among the constituents of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) for the Bihar Assembly election. The BJP will contest 121 seats while Nitish's JD-U has 122 seats.

In a joint NDA press conference in Patna, the Chief Minister said that the BJP has been given 121 seats, while the JD-U has got 122 seats. He said that JD-U has given 7 seats to Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) from its quota, while BJP will give seats to Vikas Insan Party (VIP) from its quota. He said that talks between BJP and VIP are in the final stages.

He said, "We are not concerned with what someone speculates. We are working together and will do so."

The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) led by Chirag Paswan, recently, decided to parts ways with the NDA in Bihar and go solo in the upcoming assembly polls. The decision was taken in party's parliamentary board meeting on Sunday.

The party decided that it won't go to elections as part of the NDA as incumbent CM Nitish Kumar is the face of the alliance, it was reported. The LJP had already made it clear that it was not willing to contest elections under Kumar.

However, earlier, Bihar BJP chief Sanjay Jaiswal reiterated that the NDA is contesting the Bihar polls under the leadership of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Several leaders including Jaiswal, BJP Bihar in-charge Bhupendra Yadav, BJP's Bihar poll in-charge Devendra Fadnavis, JD-U state chief Vashisht Narayan Singh and Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi were present at the joint press meet.

(With inputs from IANS)