Odisha: BJP Leads On 7 Lok Sabha Seats, BJD Set To Retain Government In The State
Odisha: BJP Leads On 7 Lok Sabha Seats, BJD Set To Retain Government In The StateOdisha

In the coastal state of Odisha, the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading on 7 seats while the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is leading on 14 seats as per the latest Election Commission data.

BJP’s Baijayant Jay Panda is trailing from Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat in the state by about 1300 votes. BJD’s Anubhav Mohanty is leading on the seat.

On the other hand, BJD’s Pinaki Misra is leading BJP’s Sambit Patra on the Puri seat by a small margin of around 300 votes.

Counting for the state Assembly elections are also going on in Odisha. The ruling BJD has retained its stronghold on the state as the party is leading on 77 seats while the BJP is leading on 28 seats as per latest data.

In 2014, the BJD had won 117 assembly seats and 20 Lok Sabha seats, while the BJP had won 10 assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber