Pakistan Elections: PPP’s Mahesh Malani Becomes First Non-Muslim To Win General SeatPPP chief Bilawal Bhutto (L) with Mahesh Malani (R). (pic via Twitter)

After finally being allowed to vote and contest on general seats in 2002, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)‘s Mahesh Malani has emerged as the first non-Muslim to win a general seat in the just-concluded Pakistani elections, Pakistan-based Dawn has reported.

Malani has won from the Tharparkar-II or NA-222 seat where he defeated candidates from the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA), Allah-o-Akbar Tehreek, Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan among others. He won the seat with a margin of almost 20,000 votes, defeating the GDA candidate Arbab Zakaullah.

He was also the first non-Muslim to enter the Sindh provincial assembly in the 2013 elections.

Earlier, Sindh’s Krishna Kumari became the first Hindu woman to be elected to the Pakistani Senate during the March upper house elections. She also belonged to the PPP.

Non-muslims were allowed to contest and vote in the Pakistani general elections after a 2002 amendment brought in by Pervez Musharraf. Malani has held several important positions during his tenure as a member of the Sindh parliament.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber