Sanskrit Becomes Third Most Popular Language Among MPs For Taking Lok Sabha Oath; English Sees Big DropBJP MP Pratap Chandra Sarangi taking oath in Sanskrit. (Courtesy Lok Sabha TV)

Even as the number of MPs who have taken their oath in English in the 17th Lok Sabha has seen a massive decline from 114 in 2014 to 54, Sanskrit has emerged as the third most popular language for officially being sworn in the lower house of Parliament.

As per a report by The Indian Express, the number of lawmakers who took oath in Sanskrit has risen to 44 in the current Lok Sabha from 39 in the last one. The biggest gainers from the loss of English, however, have been regional languages, especially those from the south.

A total of 39 MPs took oath in Tamil, up from just 7 in the last Lok Sabha, while Telugu saw a spike to 24 from 13.

Hindi has again emerged as the dominant language during the oath-taking process, with a total of 210 MPs opting for the language in the current Lok Sabha, which is marginally higher from the 202 lawmakers who chose the language in 2014.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber