Six Congress MLAs From Manipur Resign From Assembly, Party Days After Defying WhipSonia Gandhi with former Congress president Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Vadra. (Rediff)

In a rude awakening for the Sonia Gandhi-led Congress party, six of its sitting MLAs in the Manipur State Assembly have tendered their resignation and quit the party, reports Times of India.

The six MLAs included Okram henry Singh, nephew of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh. Other MLAs included Oinam Lukhoi, Md Abdul Nasir, Paonam Brojen, Ngamthang Haokip and Ginsuanhau.

All the six MLAs were among the eight Congress MLAs who had on Monday (10 August) defied the whip issued by the party to vote against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led N Biren Singh Government in a trust vote which the incumbent Government easily sailed through.

The six had handed over their resignation to the Speaker of the Assembly Yumnam Khemchand Singh, who has since accepted the resignations of five of them. The resignation of the sixth MLA Brojen remains pending as of now given a disqualification case against him is already pending in the Speaker's Tribunal. The case will now be taken up on 14 August.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber