West Bengal Assembly Results: Former Cricketer Ashoke Dinda Wins  Moyna Constituency Seat On BJP TicketAshoke Dinda

Former Indian cricketer and BJP candidate Ashoke Dinda won the West Bengal legislative assembly elections from the Moyna constituency with a margin of 1260 votes.

Dinda defeated Sangram Kumar Dolai of the TMC, who polled 106,849 votes as compared to the ex-pacer’s 108,109 votes.

It was mainly a two-cornered fight in Moyna as the Congress’ Manik Bhaumik finished a distant third with only 5108 votes to his name.

Dinda, who has been a stalwart for Bengal in domestic cricket, joined the BJP in February ahead of the assembly elections.

Expressing his gratitude at being elected to the legislative assembly, Dinda tweeted, “Thank you Moyna for believing in me.”

Dinda represented Bengal in various domestic cricket competitions for around 15 years from 2005-19. Within this time period, he developed to become a pillar of the stateside and even played internationally in 13 ODIs and nine T20Is.

He is a native of Moyna, which falls in the Purba Medinipur district of the eastern state. The constituency had gone into polls in the second phase of elections on 2nd April.

However, Dinda was allegedly attacked by TMC goons as he was in his car whilst rounding up his work on the final day of the election campaign on 30th March.

The BJP in total has emerged victorious in 77 seats in the assembly elections, as per official data of the Election Commission of India.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber