News Brief

Bihar: Ahead Of Lok Sabha Polls, 22 LJP Leaders Resign From Chirag Paswan-Led Party After Being Denied Tickets

Nayan Dwivedi

Apr 04, 2024, 10:39 AM | Updated 10:39 AM IST

Lok Janshakti Party leader Chirag Paswan.
Lok Janshakti Party leader Chirag Paswan.

In a significant blow to the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar, a wave of resignations has swept through Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (Ramvilas), with 22 leaders stepping down after being denied tickets to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Accusations of ticket selling and favoritism have gripped the party's internal dynamics, leading to a mass exodus of prominent members.

Ex-MP Renu Kushwaha, a vocal critic of the party leadership, lamented the preference given to 'outsiders' over dedicated party workers in the ticket allocation process.

"Tickets were given to outsiders, implying a lack of trust in our own party members. We are not here to serve as laborers," remarked Kushwaha, reported Hindustan Times.

Also Read: Congress Expels Former Mumbai Unit Chief Sanjay Nirupam For Six Years: Here's Why

Among the notable figures who resigned from LJP (Paswan) is Satish Kumar, the former national general secretary and ex-MLA, who expressed disappointment over the betrayal of party workers' aspirations.

"The people who hoped for a new Bihar have been betrayed, and their aspirations crushed," Kumar stated, emphasizing the need to support the opposition Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance) under the larger INDI bloc.

Ravindra Singh, the former secretary of LJP's organization, echoed similar sentiments, accusing Chirag Paswan of selling tickets for personal gain.

"He played an emotional game with the people and betrayed their trust. Now, the people will give him an answer," Singh asserted.

Under the present NDA's seat-sharing agreement, LJP (Paswan) will contest on five of Bihar's total 40 seats: Vaishali, Hajipur, Samastipur, Khagaria, and Jamui.

Also Read: Tesla To Begin Exploring Sites For $3 Billion EV Manufacturing Plant In India This Month: Report

Nayan Dwivedi is Staff Writer at Swarajya.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.