News Brief

First Session Of 18th Lok Sabha From 24 June To 3 July: Here's What's On The Agenda

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 12, 2024, 10:42 AM | Updated 10:42 AM IST

Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju  (Photo by Sonu Mehta /Hindustan Times via Getty Images)
Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju (Photo by Sonu Mehta /Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha is scheduled to convene from 24 June to 3 July, announced Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju on Wednesday.

The session will primarily focus on the oath or affirmation of newly elected members, the election of the Speaker, and the President's Address, followed by discussions.

Additionally, the 264th session of the Rajya Sabha will begin from 27 June and conclude on 3 July.

"First Session of 18th Lok Sabha is being summoned from 24.6.24 to 3.7.24 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members, Election of Speaker, President’s Address and discussion thereon. 264th Session of Rajya Sabha will commence on 27.6.24 and conclude on 3.7.24," Rijiju posted on social media platform X.

During the initial three days of the session, newly elected leaders will take oath or make affirmations of their membership. They will also elect the Speaker of the House.

President Droupadi Murmu will address a joint sitting of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on 27 June, and is likely to outline the new government's roadmap for the next five years, Economic Times reported.

Prime Minister Modi is expected to introduce his council of ministers to Parliament after the President's address on 27 June.

The debate on the Motion of Thanks on the President's address is anticipated to witness an aggressive opposition, aiming to question the NDA government on various issues.

Following the debate, the Prime Minister will respond in both Houses of Parliament.

Also Read: NEET-UG 2024 Controversy: Physics Wallah CEO Alakh Pandey Moves SC Against NTA's Arbitrary Award Of Grace Marks To 1,500 Students

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.