News Brief

Months Ahead Of Assembly Elections, Former AAP Minister, Chhatarpur MLA And Councilor Join BJP In Delhi

Nishtha Anushree

Jul 10, 2024, 03:06 PM | Updated 03:06 PM IST

AAP leaders join BJP in Delhi
AAP leaders join BJP in Delhi

Former Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Minister Rajkumar Anand and AAP MLA from Chhatarpur, Kartar Singh Tanwar joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Delhi today (10 July).

Former Patel Nagar MLA Veena Anand, Chhatarpur councilor Umesh Singh Phogat, AAP's Himachal Pradesh in charge Ratnesh Gupta and co-in-charge Sachin Rai also joined the BJP.

Notably, Veena Anand is the wife of Rajkumar Anand. Rajkumar Anand was the Social Welfare Minister in the Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi Cabinet.

However, he had left the party after Kejriwal was arrested in the liquor policy case in March. Anand then joined Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha election.

He has now joined the BJP along with other AAP leaders in the presence of BJP's national general secretary Arun Singh and Delhi president Virendra Sachdeva.

The joining comes months ahead of the Delhi Assembly elections, set to be held early next year. Meanwhile, senior AAP leaders like Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Satyendra Jain are in jail.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.