News Brief

Punjab Election Result: Former CM Charanjit Singh Channi Wins In Jalandhar, AAP Leads In Three Seats, SAD In One

Nishtha Anushree

Jun 04, 2024, 02:34 PM | Updated 02:34 PM IST

Punjab election result
Punjab election result

Former Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi won the Lok Sabha elections in Jalandhar, while six other Congress candidates are leading in their respective constituencies.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading in three seats, while Harsimrat Kaur Badal is the lone Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate, leading in Bathinda.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is not leading in any seat of the state. Preneet Kaur is trailing by over 17,000 votes in Patiala, while Taranjit Singh Sandhu is trailing in Amritsar by around 50,000 votes.

The BJP won two seats in the 2019 elections in the state, but now it is losing Hoshiarpur to AAP and Gurdaspur to Congress, as it did not repeat any of its incumbent MPs.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.