Andhra Assembly Election Results: Chandrababu Naidu Set To Return As CM? TDP-Led NDA Leading In 155 Of 175 Seats

Swarajya Staff

Jun 04, 2024, 09:58 AM | Updated 01:45 PM IST

Representative Image
Representative Image

Former Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is set to become the Chief Minister as his party, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), is set to win the 2024 Andhra Pradesh assembly elections with a thumping majority, trends show.

TDP fought the elections with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which includes the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena Party (JNP).

The TDP is leading in more than 130 seats, while the incumbent Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's party, Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), is leading in just 18 seats. JNP and BJP are leading in 19 and 7 seats, respectively, in the 175-member assembly.

Jagan Mohan Reddy, however, is leading with 40,000 votes in Pulivendla constituency, where he last won in the 2019 assembly election with 90,000 votes.

The assembly elections for Andhra Pradesh were held on 13 May, along with the Lok Sabha polls, with the YSRCP contesting all 175 seats.

In the 2019 assembly elections, YSRCP won a landslide victory, securing 151 seats, with TDP trailing behind with only 23 seats and JNP with just one seat.

However, this time the exit polls had predicted a big victory for the TDP-led NDA alliance, projecting 111-135 seats and hinting at massive anti-incumbency.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.