Uttar Pradesh

Can INDI Alliance Come Down To NDA Tally In Uttar Pradesh? Yes, If Six MPs Facing Criminal Charges Get Disqualified

Nishtha Anushree

Jun 11, 2024, 03:42 PM | Updated 03:42 PM IST

Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi
Akhilesh Yadav and Rahul Gandhi

While the INDI Alliance won six more seats than the BJP-led NDA in Uttar Pradesh in the Lok Sabha elections, it may come down to an equal count if its six elected MPs facing criminal charges get convicted with a jail term of more than two years.

As per The Representation of the People Act 1951, an elected representative will be disqualified if he/she gets convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for two years or more.

Earlier, the state has witnessed the disqualification of Azam Khan, his son Abdullah Azam, Khaboo Tiwari, Vikram Saini, Ram Dular Gond, Kuldeep Sengar and Ashok Chandel under this provision.

Here's a list of those INDI Alliance MP-elects who are vulnerable to disqualification now:

1. Afzal Ansari: Samajwadi Party (SP) MP from Ghazipur has already been convicted in a Gangster Act case. However, his four-year sentence was stayed by the Allahabad High Court, allowing him to contest.

The matter will be taken up again by the court in July when it reopens after summer vacations. If his sentence is upheld, he will be disqualified in the very first month from the Lok Sabha.

2. Dharmendra Yadav: The SP Azamgarh MP is facing four criminal cases and may lose his Lok Sabha membership if he gets more than two years of sentence in any of these cases.

3. Babu Singh Kushwaha: The Jaunpur SP MP has already been to jail in the National Rural Health Mission (NRHM) scam that he allegedly did as a Minister in the Mayawati government from 2007 to 2012.

Charges have been framed in eight of the 25 cases against him and he soon may be disqualified if he gets convicted and sentenced to two years of imprisonment in any of these cases.

4. Rambhual Nishad: There are eight cases against the Sultanpur SP MP, including one under the Gangsters Act, making him vulnerable to disqualification as per law.

5. Virendra Singh: The Chandauli SP MP is facing charges of rioting, armed with deadly weapon, harming public worker, provocation to public peace and others, which may lead to his disqualification.

6. Imran Masood: The Congress MP from Saharanpur faces eight cases including one of money laundering. Charges have been framed against him in two cases and conviction may lead to disqualification.

Another MP-elect, who was not part of any of the two blocs, Chandra Shekhar Azad of Azad Samaj Party, who won from Nagina, has over 30 cases registered against him, making him vulnerable to disqualification.

If any seat gets vacated due to disqualification, the Election Commission announces by-polls for it. Already, many places in UP are set for by-polls (Read here to know more).

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.