IPL 2022: 27 Players Retained By The Eight Franchises

IPL 2022: 27 Players Retained By The Eight Franchises

by Karan Kamble - Nov 30, 2021 11:59 PM +05:30 IST
IPL 2022: 27 Players Retained By The Eight FranchisesVIVO IPL
  • The BCCI has revealed the list of 27 players who have been retained by the eight IPL franchises.

Twenty-seven players have been retained by the eight Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises for the year 2022. With that, the player retention window has drawn to a close.

Rohit Sharma, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, and Virat Kohli were, as expected, retained by their franchises Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore respectively.

Notably, Rashid Khan, K L Rahul, and Hardik Pandya were not retained by their franchises.

The eight franchises were eligible to retain up to four players with a maximum of three Indians, two overseas players, and two uncapped Indians.

Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, and Kolkata Knight Riders retained four players each.

Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Sunrisers Hyderabad retained three players each.

Punjab Kings chose to hold on to two players only.

In all, 27 players were retained, among whom are eight overseas and four uncapped Indian players.

The released players will enter the pool to be picked by IPL teams, including the two new ones, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, in the next year's auction.

Retained Players

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja (Rs 16 crore), M S Dhoni (Rs 12 crore), Moeen Ali (Rs 8 crore), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs 6 crore)

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (Rs 16 crore), Axar Patel (Rs 9 crore), Prithvi Shaw (Rs 7.5 crore), and Anrich Nortje (Rs 6.5 crore)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell (Rs 12 crore), Varun Chakaravarthy (Rs 8 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (Rs 8 crore), and Sunil Narine (Rs 6 crore)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Rs 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (Rs 12 crore), Suryakumar Yadav (Rs 8 crore), and Kieron Pollard (Rs 6 crore)

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (Rs 14 crore), Jos Buttler (Rs 10 crore), and Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rs 4 crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Rs 15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (Rs 11 crore), and Mohammed Siraj (Rs 7 crore)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (Rs 14 crore), Abdul Samad (Rs 4 crore), and Umran Malik (Rs 4 crore)

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (Rs 12 crore) and Arshdeep Singh (Rs 4 crore)

Each of the IPL teams have a maximum of Rs 90 crore to spend for player purchases at the mega auctions next year. They will now be left with a share of that total salary purse after deducting the amount for retention.

Because Punjab Kings retained only two players, they have the highest purse available for the auction — Rs 72 crore.

The salary purse available to Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore is Rs 68 crore, Rs 62 crore, and Rs 57 crore respectively.

The other four teams — Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Mumbai Indians — congregate on or around the Rs 48 crore mark.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.