Bengaluru - Mysuru Expressway Progressing Ahead, It Boosts Silk And Tourism Industry Of Karnataka: Nitin Gadkari

by India Infrahub - Jun 19, 2022 06:00 PM +05:30 IST
Bengaluru - Mysuru Expressway Progressing Ahead, It Boosts Silk And Tourism Industry Of Karnataka: Nitin GadkariAn elevated section of six lane Bengaluru - Mysore expressway (@mepratap/Twitter)
  • 117 km long Bengaluru - Mysore expressway connects major economic and tourist centres of Karnataka.

    This 10 lane highway reduces travel time between Bengaluru and Mysore from three hours to just 90 minutes.

Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari said that the Bengaluru Nidaghatta section of the under-construction Bengaluru - Mysore expressway is progressing well.

Bengaluru - Mysore expressway involves six laning of NH-275 along with two-lane service roads on both sides, making it a 10-lane highway. It consists of both brownfield and greenfield sections.

This expressway, taken up with over Rs 8,000 crore, is likely to be completed by the year-end and reduce travel time between the major cities of Karnataka to less than 90 minutes from the current three hours.

The expressway project is being developed under two packages. The first one runs from Bengaluru to Nidaghatta in Maddur taluk for around 56 km, and the second package, which is 61 km long, connects Nidaghatta to Myusuru.

“New India of the 21st Century is focused on building the best infrastructure facilities in the world. Keeping it in mind, the project for Six laning of Bengaluru Nidaghatta Section of NH-275 is progressing ahead with lots of promises,” Gadkari said in a series of tweets.

Gadkari said that the Bangalore to Nidaghatta section is a crucial stretch to tourism and the economy as it passes through the towns of Bidadi, Channapatana and Ramanagara, having the largest market for silk cocoons in Asia and provides access to the country’s only vulture sanctuary and will be connecting Srirangapatna, Mysore, Ooty, Kerala and Coorg.

“Special care has been taken on the project with road safety enhancements like eliminating the at-grade Junctions and providing vehicular underpasses and overpasses to nullify the accidents,” the union minister added.

Also, this expressway stretch consists of six bypasses at Bidadi, Ramanagara, Channarayapatna, Maddur, Mandya and Srirangapatna. These are expected to reduce traffic congestion and enhance road safety.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.