Bengaluru - Mysuru Expressway Unlikely To Be Ready By October: Report

Bengaluru - Mysuru Expressway Unlikely To Be Ready By October: Report

by V Bhagya Subhashini - Jul 21, 2022 11:27 AM +05:30 IST
Bengaluru - Mysuru Expressway Unlikely To Be Ready By October: ReportBengaluru-Mysuru Expressway (NHAI)

The much-anticipated Bengaluru-Mysuru Expressway was scheduled to be completed by Dasara but will not be completed any time soon. PWD Minister CC Patil stated that the project is not likely to be completed by October, contrary to what was previously announced.

The Karnataka state government intended to invite Prime Minister Narendra Modi to inaugurate the ambitious project during Mysore Dasara celebrations. But it is unlikely that the project will be completed before Dasara, since work is moving slowly in some places.

Bengaluru - Mysore expressway involves six laning of NH-275 along with two-lane service roads on both sides, making it a 10-lane highway. It consists of both brownfield and greenfield sections.

This expressway, taken up with over Rs 8,000 crore, is likely to be completed by the year-end and reduce travel time between the major cities of Karnataka to less than 90 minutes from the current three hours.

Although road construction is nearly complete, structures such as flyovers and underpasses remain unfinished in many places. There are nine major bridges, 44 minor bridges, and four rail over bridges along the corridor.

“We have completed 70 per cent of the work and are trying to complete the remaining at the earliest. It might not be possible to finish work by Dasara,’’ said an official, as per report of the New Indian Express.

The expressway project is being developed under two packages. The first one runs from Bengaluru to Nidaghatta in Maddur taluk for around 56 km, and the second package, which is 61 km long, connects Nidaghatta to Mysuru.

“New India of the 21st Century is focused on building the best infrastructure facilities in the world. Keeping it in mind, the project for Six laning of Bengaluru Nidaghatta Section of NH-275 is progressing ahead with lots of promises,” Union Minister for Roads and Highways, Nitin Gadkari said in a series of tweets.

This expressway stretch consists of six bypasses at Bidadi, Ramanagara, Channarayapatna, Maddur, Mandya and Srirangapatna. These are expected to reduce traffic congestion and enhance road safety.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.