Pune Metro: First Trial Run From Civil Court To Swargate Conducted, 3.34-Km Stretch Expected To Open In March

Amit Mishra

Feb 06, 2024, 11:29 AM | Updated 11:48 AM IST

The Pune Metro.
The Pune Metro.

Taking a significant stride towards the full operationalisation of Pune Metro Line-1, a successful trial run was conducted on a 3.34-kilometre section from Civil Court underground station to Swargate station.

The trial run commenced at 10.58 am from the Civil Court underground metro station, winding its way through the Mutha riverbed, Budhwar Peth, and Mandai, before finally reaching the Swargate metro station at 11.59 am on Monday (5 February).

During its journey from Civil Court to Swargate, the metro line ventured beneath the Mutha riverbed, signifying a historic milestone for Pimpri Chinchwad and Pune.

The first phase of the Pune Metro rail project consists of two corridors, a north-south corridor (Purple line) and an east-west corridor (Aqua line), with a total length of 33.1 km and 30 stations.

The north-south corridor stretching 17.4 kilometres from Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC) to Swargate, featuring 14 stations (nine elevated and five underground), passes through the industrial area of Pimpri-Chinchwad and further into old Peth areas of the Pune city.

Currently, this line is operational from Pimpri to Civil Court. The pending segment from Civil Court to Swargate, about 3.7 km, is expected to be inaugurated in March.

Pune Metro Route Map
Pune Metro Route Map

Likewise, the fully elevated corridor extending from Vanaz in the west to Ramwadi in the east covers a distance of 15.7 km and encompasses 16 stations.

Presently, this line is in operation from Vanaz to Ruby Clinic, with the remaining 5.5-km stretch from Ruby Clinic to Ramwadi being readied for inauguration during second half of February.

In October 2023, the Maharashtra Metro Rail Corporation Limited (Maha-Metro) conducted trials on the Ruby Clinic to Ramwadi stretch. Subsequently, a CMRS team completed its first inspection during the second week of January this year.

Later, CMRS chief Janak Kumar Garge commenced the final inspection of the stretch, concluding it on 22 January.

On completion, the two corridors will provide a seamless travel experience from Vanaz to Ramwadi and PCMC to Swargate — extending the Metro's total run to 33.1 km, from the current 24 km.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.