10 Per Cent Quota Bill: Eight Eminent Institutions To Be Exempt, Says HRD Ministry Memo

10 Per Cent Quota Bill: Eight Eminent Institutions To Be Exempt, Says HRD Ministry MemoHRD Minister Prakash Javadekar (Pankaj Nangia/India Today Group/Getty Images)

Eight institutions of excellence will reportedly be exempt from the 10 per cent quota for economically weaker sections (EWS) by the central government, reports India Today.

The eight institutes are Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai, and its constituent units, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research - Mumbai, North - East Indira Gandhi Regional Institute of Health and Medical Science - Shillong, National Brain Research Centre - Gurugram, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research - Bengaluru, Physical Research Laboratory - Ahmedabad, Space Physics Laboratory - Thiruvananthapuram, and Indian Institute of Remote Sensing - Dehradun.

According to the recent order from the HRD Ministry, all other central universities and colleges apart from these eight institutes of national importance will have to implement the quota from 2019-20 academic session.

The order came a week after the Parliament approved the bill. Apart from the eight institutes, minority education institutes are also exempt from the EWS reservation.

"The above reservation will not be applicable to the 8 institutions of excellence, research institutions, institutions of national & strategic importance as specified in the Schedule to The Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Act, 2006, and to minority educational institutions referred to in clause (1) of Article 30 of the Constitution," India Today quoted the memo as saying.

All central institutes and universities will also have to declare the revised number of seats after incorporating the EWS reservation, by 31 March, on their official websites.