A Day After Uyghur ‘Genocide’ Designation, China Announces Sanctions On Trump Administration Officials Including Mike Pompeo US Secretary Of State Mike Pompeo (Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

China’s foreign ministry announced on Wednesday (Jan 20) that it has imposed sanctions on 28 American officials including several members of the outgoing Trump administration, accusing them of having “seriously violated” China’s sovereignty.

Beijing announced the decision a day after former secretary of state Mike Pompeo declared China’s repression of Uyghur and other Muslim minorities in the Xinjiang province a “genocide.”

Pompeo is among those sanctioned. The other key functionaries of the Trump administration banned by China includes national security advisers John Bolton and Robert O’Brien, and former deputy national security adviser Matthew Pottinger. Influential electoral strategist and former Trump aide Steve Bannon was also sanctioned.

"Over the past few years, some anti-China politicians in the United States, out of their selfish political interests and prejudice and hatred against China and showing no regard for the interests of the Chinese and American people, have planned, promoted and executed a series of crazy moves which have gravely interfered in China's internal affairs, undermined China's interests, offended the Chinese people, and seriously disrupted China-U.S. relations." a press release by the Chinese foreign ministry said.

"The Chinese government is firmly resolved to defend China's national sovereignty, security and development interests. China has decided to sanction 28 persons who have seriously violated China's sovereignty and who have been mainly responsible for such U.S. moves on China-related issues." the statement added.

The 28 individuals and their immediate family members will be prohibited from entering the mainland, Hong Kong and Macao of China. They and companies and institutions associated with them will be restricted from doing business with China.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber