After Winning Full Majority PM Modi, Amit Shah Take Oath As Seventeenth Lok Sabha Session Begins 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing the media outside Parliament (PIB)

Following BJP’s big electoral victory, the seventeenth Lok Sabha session began on Monday (17 June) from 11 AM, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah taking oath, Indian Express has reported.

Other MPs taking oath included Union Minister Smriti Irani who was greeted with a rapturous response in light of her victory against Congress president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi.

Protem Speaker Virender Kumar is the one currently administering oaths to the MPs. The permanent speaker would be elected on 19 June.


Prior to the commencement of proceedings, Prime Minister Narendra Modi appealed to the opposition to not bother about its numbers and focus on active participation in the lower house of the Parliament.

“In Parliament, we should forget 'Paksh', 'Vipaksh' and think about issues with 'nishpaksh spirit', work in larger interest of nation”, said Prime Minster Modi while speaking to media persons outside the Parliament.

He also expressed hope that the seventeenth session would be more productive as compared to previous years and as reiterated that he and his government values the opposition.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber