BJP Announces 57 Delhi Poll Candidates, Prominent Leader Kapil Mishra To Contest From Model Town

Swarajya Staff

Jan 17, 2020, 05:39 PM | Updated 05:39 PM IST

Kapil Mishra addressing a rally (Pic via Twitter)
Kapil Mishra addressing a rally (Pic via Twitter)

The BJP on Friday (17 January) announced the names of 57 out of 70 candidates for the upcoming Delhi assembly polls which will be conducted on 8 February.

One of the most prominent names in the first list is former AAP minister Kapil Mishra who has been given a ticket from Model Town. Mishra who has been one of the biggest critics of Arvind Kejriwal took to twitter to thank Prime Minster Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah for giving him this opportunity.

Another senior BJP leader Vijender Gupta will contest from Rohini. The BJP will be looking forward to improving its 2015 tally in which it only won 3 seats - the tally later became four after it won a by poll. Unlike previous elections, the party has refrained from announcing a chief ministerial candidate.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.