Chinnaswamy Blast Case: Three Associates Of Bhatkal Brothers Get Seven Year Imprisonment
Chinnaswamy Blast Case: Three Associates Of Bhatkal Brothers Get Seven Year ImprisonmentAn explosives expert surveys the site of a low intensity blast outside Chinnaswamy stadium. (Getty Images)

A National Investigative Agency (NIA) special court sentenced three accused in the Chinnaswamy blast case to seven years imprisonment.

The judgement comes eight years after two blasts rocked the stadium on 17 April 2010 just before a cricket match was to be held as part of the Indian Premier League.

As reported by the Deccan Chronicle, the court pronounced its judgement after the three accused Gowhar Azeez Khomani, Kamal Hasan, and Mohammed Kafeel Akhtar pleaded guilty on Wednesday (4 July) and asked them to pay a fine of Rs 7.5 lakh and Rs 10 lakh.

The three accused are said to have pleaded guilty before Justice Siddalinga Prabhu of indirect involvement in the blast which include attending a meeting with the Bhatkal brothers Yasin and Riyaz - the prime accused in the case, to discuss the blast and providing facilities to other accused in Bengaluru. The sentence includes one year of rigorous imprisonment.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber