Congress CMs Accused Of ‘Pettiness’ After They Refuse To Attend PM Modi’s Swearing-In Ceremony

PM Modi (file photo)

After Mamata Banerjea, the chief ministers (CM) of Congress-ruled states of Madhya Pradesh (MP), Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Punjab will also skip PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony, reports Times Now.

While MP CM Kamal Nath is not attending the ceremony on account of several engagements in the state capital, as his aide informed, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel said he would not be attending the swearing-in because of “prior commitments.” He added that he has sought time from his office to meet PM Modi separately.

Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot will also miss the Prime Minister’s swearing in programme. “No travel to the national capital has been scheduled,” a source at Chief Minister’s Office was quoted as saying by the Indian Express. Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh too will skip the swearing-in ceremony, his aide informed, without giving any reason.


Pinarayi Vijayan, Chief Minister of the only Left-run state in the country, Kerala, too would not attend the event in Delhi.

On the other hand, Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao, Andhra CM Jaganmohan Reddy, Karnataka CM H D Kumaraswamy, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal will be attending the swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi.

In the recently concluded LS polls, PM Modi-led BJP scored a landslide victory, completely decimating the Congress party.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber