Economist Surjit Bhalla Quits Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory Council
Economist Surjit Bhalla Quits Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory CouncilSurjit Bhalla. (Saumya Khandelwal/Hindustan Times via Getty Image)

Economist Surjit Bhalla took to Twitter on Tuesday (11 December 2018) to announce his resignation from the PM’s Economic Advisory Council (PMEAC), reports Mint.

"I resigned as part-time member of PMEAC on December 1,” he tweeted. Bhalla, who holds a Ph.D in economics from Princeton University, had also worked as a contributing editor of Indian Express, and as a consultant at Network18 Group.

He has authored books like Imagine There’s no Country (2002), Devaluing to Prosperity (2012), and most recently (2017) The New Wealth of Nations.

The Council was constituted on 26 September 2017 with a mandate to analyse all critical issues, economic or otherwise, referred to it by the Prime Minister and advising him thereon. Set up as an independent institutional body, PMEAC consists of reputed economists and experts.

Currently, the team includes six members: Bibek Debroy (Chairman), Shri Ratan P Watal (member secretary), Rathin Roy (part-time member), Ashima Goyal (part-time member), and Shamika Ravi (part-time member).

The Prime Minister's Office has accepted the resignation of Bhalla and noted that it would take effect on the same date.

Also Read: Surjit Bhalla’s Interview With Swarajya

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber