Karnataka: BJP MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri Elected As The New Speaker Of State Assembly
Karnataka: BJP MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri Elected As The New Speaker Of State AssemblyVishweshwara Hegde Kageri, fourth from left, filing his nomination to the post of the Speaker to the Assembly secretary MK Vishalakshi. CM Yediyurappa and other leaders of BJP accompanied him. (@bjparvind/Twitter)

Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri has been elected as the new Speaker of Karnataka assembly as there were no contenders for the post from the opposition.

The post was vacated after senior Congress leader KR Ramesh Kumar resigned on Monday (28 July) following Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa winning the floor test in the house.

Kageri, a six-time MLA, filed his nomination for the assembly Speaker post on Tuesday (30 July). He was accompanied by CM Yediyurappa and other senior leaders of the state BJP, reports Hindustan Times.

According to the report, the state BJP wanted to field former speaker KG Bopaiah for the post but due to his unwillingness, the party had to go with Kageri, a senior BJP leader said.

Congress and JD(S) refused to field their candidates as they do not have numbers in the assembly to support their candidate. The BJP has 105 MLAs and the support of one Independent in the House, which has a current strength of 208 after Ramesh Kumar disqualified 17 MLAs last week.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber