Karnataka: Senior Congress MLA Resigns, Six More May Follow Suit; Fuels Rumours Of JD(S)-Congress Government Falling

Karnataka Chief Minster H D Kumaraswamy (Sanchit Khanna/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Senior Congress MLA Anand Singh on Monday (1 July) resigned from the Karnataka state assembly, Deccan Herald reported.

The Vijayanagar MLA said he submitted his resignation to Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar but the speaker of the assembly has since then denied having received the resignation letter.

This resignation could trigger a chain reaction and over six disgruntled Congress and JD(S) MLAs may follow suit in the coming days. This has fuelled speculation over the Congress-JD(S) government falling in the near future.


Some of the MLAs who may resign include Congress' Ramesh Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumathalli, Pratap Gowda Patil and B C Patil.

Ever since the formation of the Congress-JD(S) government, fault lines have emerged between the two parties which has included Chief Minister Kumaraswamy lamenting over not being allowed to work.

Few days earlier former prime minister H D Deve Gowda lashed out at the Congress and claimed that mid-term elections would "no doubt" be held in the state.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber