Kerala: BJP's Kummanam, Metro Man E Sreedharan And Actor Suresh Gopi Lead; LDF All Set To Retain PowerBJP is leading in three seats.

For the first time in 40 years, Kerala may break the cycle of voting out the incumbent party as initial trends indicate victory for Pinarayi Vijayan led LDF government.

The main contenders in Kerala assembly elections are the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM) led Left Democratic Front (LDF) and Indian National Congress (INC) led United Democratic Front (UDF). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is emerging as a force to reckon with by increasing its vote share in every election.

The ruling LDF is leading in 89 seats and the opposition UDF is leading in 48 seats. On the other hand BJP which contested 113 seats out of 140 strong Kerala Assembly is leading in three seats.

BJP is leading in Thrissur, Nemom and Palakkad constituencies. Former Meghalaya governor and senior party leader of the BJP, Kummanam Rajasekharan is leading in Nemom by 877 votes. BJP’s candidate from Palakkad who is also popular as Metro man E Sreedharan is leading by 4,333 votes. Popular actor Suresh Gopi is leading in Thrissur constituency by 1,530 votes.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber