Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Kerala Voters Bring The Curtains Down On Mollywood StarsMalayalam movie stars Innocent (left) and Suresh Gopi.

Malayalam cinema stars failed to make any impact in the Lok Sabha elections this time. Although Malayalam movie stars have generally kept away from politics, there were two actors in fray this time.

Outgoing Member of Parliament and senior actor Innocent contested with the support of Left Democratic Front (LDF) from the Chalakudy constituency. Innocent, who has figured as a comedian and character actor, contested as an independent last time and this time too. He lost by over 1.3 lakh votes to Benny Behanan of the Congress.

The other actor to lose was the high profile Suresh Gopi, who has acted as a hero in many films, besides appearing in Tamil, Telugu and Hindu films.

Suresh Gopi, nominated to the Rajya Sabha in 2016, made his electoral debut from Thrissur on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket this time. The versatile actor finished third behind T N Prathapan of the Congress, who won over 93,500 votes, and Rajaji Mathew Thomas of the LDF.

Suresh Gopi, however, nearly trebled BJP’s votes in the constituency getting 2.93 lakh against 1.1 lakh votes the party got in 2014.

More popular stars like Mammootty and Mohan Lal have so far avoided any association with political parties.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber