Polling Underway For 51 Constituencies In Seven States: Rajnath, Sonia, Rahul and Smriti Enter The Arena

Representative Image (Mujeeb Faruqui/Hindustan Times via GettyImages) 

The voting for the fifth phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections is underway. As many as 51 constituencies across seven states are going into the polls in this phase of the parliamentary elections on Monday (6 May).

On this occasion, Prime Minister Narendra Modi appealed voters to come out in large numbers and exercise their voting rights.

In this phase of the elections, more than 8.75 crore electorate will be eligible to exercise their franchise in 14 seats of Uttar Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, seven each in West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, five in Bihar and four in Jharkhand. In addition, two constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir (Ladakh and Anantnag) are also going for polls, reports ANI.

Many of the political heavyweights including Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Smriti Irani, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi will be in the fray in this phase of polling.

The Election Commission has setup 96,000 polling stations with security arrangement for the smooth conduct of the elections.

The fifth phase is important for Bharatiya Janata Party as it had won 12 out of 14 seats in the 2014 general elections.

Polling for the first four phases of the elections were held on 11, 18, 23 and 29 April. After the completion of the fifth phase today (6 May), the sixth and seventh phases will take place on 12 and 19 May respectively. The counting of the votes is scheduled for 23 May.

Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber