Rs 1,500 Crore Sanctioned To Central Universities To Create Additional Seats For EWS QuotaDelhi University (M. Zhazo/ Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The central government has cleared a total of Rs 1,496 crore to 30 central universities for the implementation of the 10 per cent quota for the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) in the general category from the year 2019-20, reports The Times of India.

For the implementation, the central universities will be expanding their seats intake by 25 per cent in total. Many such universities will be implementing the rise in seat intake in two phases- 10 per cent rise in 2019-20 academic session, and the additional 15 per cent in the subsequent academic session of 2020-21.

While the universities like Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) are likely to receive their letters of sanction soon, many others like Delhi University (DU) and Viswa Bharti have already received their letters of sanction from the Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD).

It should be noted that the total number of seats across the 23 Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) stands at 12,000 at the undergraduate level. With the implementation of the EWS quota, the same is expected to increase to about 17,000 seats at the end of the second phase of seat expansion.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber