Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections: EC Data Signals Close Battle Between AIADMK And DMKTamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021

The data released by Election Commission at 10 am signals a close fight between the incumbent AIADMK and DMK. It shows that MK Stalin-led DMK is leading in 33 seats, while the AIADMK is up in 30 seats. The BJP, according to EC, leads in two seats, while PMK is up in four.

The counting of votes for the 234-member Legislative Assembly in Tamil Nadu began at 8 am on Sunday amidst strict Covid protocols in 75 centres across the state. A party would require at least 118 seats to win the election. The E Palaniswami-led AIADMK, who has allied with BJP, seeks to retain power for the third time in a row but faces a stiff challenge from M K Stalin-led DMK.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber