Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections: TN BJP Vice President K Annamalai Trailing In   Aravakurichi Constituency Former IPS officer and BJP poster boy, K Annamalai, addressing a gathering in Tamil Nadu.

K Annamalai, former IPS officer who joined the BJP last year, is trailing by around 200 votes at the Aravakurichi assembly constituency.

NR Elango of the DMK has developed a slight lead over the BJP state unit vice-president.

However, the tables could turn pretty quickly over here given that multiple rounds of counting are yet to be completed.

Overall, early trends suggest that DMK+ has crossed past the majority mark and is currently holding sway in 139 seats in the assembly polls.

The counting of votes for the 234-member Legislative Assembly in Tamil Nadu began at 8 am on Sunday amidst strict Covid protocol. A party would require at least 118 seats to win the election.

The E Palaniswami-led AIADMK, who has allied with BJP, seeks to retain power for the third time in a row but faces a stiff challenge from M K Stalin-led DMK.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber