Tamil Nadu: Shiv Das Meena To Be Next Chief Secretary; Shankar Jiwal New DGP

Swarajya News Staff

Jun 30, 2023, 10:48 AM | Updated 10:48 AM IST

Shiv Das Meena (L) and Shankar Jiwal (R)
Shiv Das Meena (L) and Shankar Jiwal (R)

Shiv Das Meena and Shankar Jiwal have been appointed as the new Chief Secretary and Director General of Police (DGP) of Tamil Nadu respectively.

They would succeed incumbents V Irai Anbu and C Sylendra Babu. Both of them are retiring today (30 June).

Meena, who hails from Rajasthan, is a 1989-batch officer in the Additional Chief Secretary grade. He was serving as the Secretary of the Municipal Administration and Water Supply (MAWS) Department after his return from central deputation in 2021.

At the centre, he joined the Ministry for Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) as Joint Secretary and was later promoted to Additional Secretary. Subsequently, he served as the chairman of the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB).

Jiwal, an IPS officer from the 1992 batch, has been serving as the Chennai Police Commissioner since 2021.

In his place, Sandeep Rai Rathore has been appointed as the new Chennai Police Commissioner.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.