TN Government’s Fate Hangs In Balance As Madras HC Set to Rule On Disqualification of 18 MLAs Tamil Nadu CM Edapaddi K. Palaniswami. (PTI)

The Madras High Court will deliver its verdict on the disqualification of 18 legislators (MLAs) by Tamil Nadu (TN) assembly speaker P Dhanapal tomorrow (14 June). The ruling will also decide on the fate of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) government led by Edappadi K Palaniswami.

The 18 MLAs who owe allegiance to the breakaway faction of the AIADMK led by TTV Dinakaran, who has now floated the Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam, were disqualified in September last year after they wrote to then governor C Vidyasagar Rao withdrawing their support to Palaniswami. However, they said that they continued to be with the AIADMK. TTV Dinakaran was expelled from the AIADMK after he attempted to take over from Palaniswami as the Chief Minister.

The High Court had reserved its verdict in January. Tamil daily Dinamalar reported that a bench of the Madras High Court comprising Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice M Sundar will deliver the verdict at 10.30 am.

If the court upholds the disqualification, then by-elections could be held on the 18 constituencies. If the speaker’s order is struck down, then the government will have to face a test of strength in the floor of the Assembly.

The disqualification case is a tricky one and the judges will be stretched to the full in taking a decision on the MLAs having violated the Anti-Defection Act.

However, it is likely that either of the warring factions could appeal against the ruling in the Supreme Court.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber