Uddhav Thackeray Chosen Leader Of ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’; To Be New Maharashtra CM
 Uddhav Thackeray Chosen Leader Of ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’; To Be New Maharashtra CMUddhav Thackeray and Sharad Pawar (Twitter) 

Shiv Sena President Uddhav B Thackeray was unanimously elected as chief of the 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' on Tuesday (26 November) evening, paving the way for his becoming the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Thackeray's name was proposed by Nationalist Congress Party state President Jayant Patil and Congress state President Balasaheb Thorat at a meeting of all the parties in the 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' here.

Present on the occasion were NCP President Sharad Pawar, Samajwadi Party state President Abu Asim Azmi, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana President Raju Shetti, and other top leaders of the Sena, the NCP and the Congress.

As per indications, the MVA is likely to stake its claim to form the government before the Governor on Tuesday night, after which the details of the wearing-in ceremony shall be finalised.

The fast-paced developments came barely hours after Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Deputy CM Ajit Pawar abruptly resigned this afternoon, a day before the special session of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly was to be convened on Wednesday (27 November) as ordered by the Supreme Court.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber